Emerson College Library: WR121: Research Writing: Graphic Novel

What do graphic novels look like?

Persepolis
Call Number: PN6747.S245 P4713 2003

Search the FLO Library Catalog to find books and audio visual materials. Hint: Try searching by Subject for "graphic novels."

Watchmen
Call Number: PN6737.M66 W38 2008
I never liked you : a comic-strip narrative
Call Number: PN6733.B7 I33 2002
Fun Home by Alison Bechdel (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6727.B3757 Z46 2006
ISBN: 9780618477944
Publication Date: 2006-06-08

Where can I get background information?

Background information can help you contextualize your topic, adopt appropriate vocabulary and terminology, and support, refute, or define your assumptions.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of virtual encyclopedias with over 3 million entries from 300+ reference books in a variety of subjects.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports on topics of current interest, with pro and con arguments. Limited to 5 users at a time.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Current in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

How do I write a visual story?

Graphic Storytelling by Will Eisner
Call Number: PN6714 .E35 1995
ISBN: 0961472820
Publication Date: 2001-08-15
Making comics : storytelling secrets of comics, manga and graphic novels
Call Number: PN6710 .M332 2006x
Comics & sequential art
Call Number: NC1764 .E47 2004

What articles have been written about my topic?

To find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly articles on your topic, consult the following databases. Remember to:

Connect words with"and," "or," and "not"
Use "quotation marks" to orcing phrases
Use the * to truncate keywords (ex. librar* = libraries, librarians)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of social sciences, humanities, business, general science, and education.

Google News
Search and browse 25,000 news sources updated continuously.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Remember to set your scholar preferences to Emerson College to get full text of articles through many of Emerson's database subscriptions

JSTOR & ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text runs of 10,000+ top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes ebooks and primary source documents. For expanded JSTOR access, register for a free eCard through Boston Public Library. For help, see the JSTOR users' guides.
Nexis Uni (previously Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles, wire services, legal, broadcast, and business news. Includes Company Info Search with financials (for publically traded companies), executives, current company news, SEC filings, mergers and acquisitions. Complementary with Proquest News database.
Project MUSE, Arts and Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 journals in classics, culture, education, film, performing arts, history, literature, religion, and theater.