Emerson College Library: WR121: Research Writing: Profile

What about books and movies on my topic?

Search the FLO Library Catalog to find books and audio visual materials related to your topic.

How do I wrap my mind around my topic?

Background information can help you contextualize your topic, adopt appropriate vocabulary and terminology, and support, refute, or define your assumptions.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of virtual encyclopedias with over 3 million entries from 300+ reference books in a variety of subjects.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Current in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports on topics of current interest, with pro and con arguments. Limited to 5 users at a time.

What articles have been written about my topic?

To find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly articles on your topic, consult the following databases. Remember to:

Connect words with"and," "or," and "not"
Use "quotation marks" to orcing phrases
Use the * to truncate keywords (ex. librar* = libraries, librarians)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of social sciences, humanities, business, general science, and education.

Google News
Search and browse 25,000 news sources updated continuously.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Remember to set your scholar preferences to Emerson College to get full text of articles through many of Emerson's database subscriptions

JSTOR & ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text runs of 10,000+ top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes ebooks and primary source documents. For expanded JSTOR access, register for a free eCard through Boston Public Library. For help, see the JSTOR users' guides.
Nexis Uni (previously Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles, wire services, legal, broadcast, and business news. Includes Company Info Search with financials (for publically traded companies), executives, current company news, SEC filings, mergers and acquisitions. Complementary with Proquest News database.
Project MUSE, Arts and Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 journals in classics, culture, education, film, performing arts, history, literature, religion, and theater.

Where can I find biographical information?

Biography Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of biographical information, including articles from magazines and newspapers.

LexisNexis Academic--People
Search news and media sources for biographical information.

Where and how can I publish my work?

Also see the Publishing Research Guide.

American Directory of Writer's Guidelines
Publication guidelines from over 1700 magazine editors and book publishers. Available in the Reference collection: [X] PN147 .A479 2007.
Media Kits
Search google for media kits using keywords: "Title of Magazine" and "media kit."

Writer's Market by Cincinnati, F & W Publications
Call Number: [X ReadyRef] PN161 .W83
Publication Date: Current Year
Provides information on where to sell articles, books, fillers, greeting cards, novels, plays, scripts and short stories. Lists literary agents, contests, and offers advice on getting published