Emerson College Library: WR121: Research Writing: Marketing Campaign

Are there books on writing for marketing?

The Adweek copywriting handbook
Call Number: HF5825 .S87 2007

Search the FLO Library Catalog to find books and audio visual materials.

Street-smart advertising
Call Number: HF5823 .B454 2007
Guerrilla advertising : unconventional brand communication
Call Number: HF5837 .L83 2006

How do I wrap my mind around my topic?

Background information can help you contextualize your topic, adopt appropriate vocabulary and terminology, and support, refute, or define your assumptions.

Credo Reference
Collection of virtual encyclopedias with over 3 million entries from 300+ reference books in a variety of subjects.
Issues and Controversies
Current in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
CQ Researcher
Weekly reports on topics of current interest, with pro and con arguments. Limited to 5 users at a time.

What do campaigns look like?

Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns
Call Number: [X] HF5837 .E53 2000

Profiles 500 of the most notable marketing and advertising campaigns of the past 100 years.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Call Number: [X] HF5803 .A38 2003

Entries for advertisers, brands, campaigns, practical and theoretical aspects of advertising, the history of advertising and more.
Art directors annual
Call Number: Ready Reference [X] NC997.A1 A69

Winners of the Art Directors Club Annual Awards are featured. National and international advertising awards are given to graphic design, illustration, photography, and new media.

What about historical ads?

AdViews by A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
This Duke University Digital Collection contains thousands of vintage TV commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s. Ads open and play, for free, in iTunes.
The Emergence of Advertising in America by John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History
"A database of over 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."
Ad*Access by John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
"An image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955."

What are some key marketing resources?

Marketing Research Guide
Created by Emerson Librarians, this guide has sections on: advertising, consumer behavior, industries, companies & brands.

Mintel Insights & Analytics
Offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Reports provide data and analysis of the competitive landscape, trends, and consumer profiles. Use requires creating a personal account using an emerson.edu email address. Short (2 min) Mintel video tutorials.

New Strategist Publications [electronic resource]
Annual in-depth analysis of American demographic slices, like Baby Boomers, Generation X, Millennials, Hispanic Americans, etc. Also includes analysis of American spending patterns by different demographic characteristics like gender, race, Hispanic origin, income level, etc.