Skip to main content

Service Desk

Welcome to the Service Desk!

The Service Desk is your one-stop shop for whatever you may need at the library, whether that’s to borrow items from our reserves collection, book a study room, or ask for help navigating the library’s collections or technology. We can even connect you to a reference librarian to help with your research questions!

What's at the Desk

Course Reserves

Have required reading for a class? We do our best to collect all required readings on campus for our reserve collection.

For campus safety, all circulating items need to be quarantined. Therefore, we will temporarily cease lending of our physical course reserves collection. For course materials not available electronically, students may request scanned chapters of course materials via our Request a Scan service. Students are limited to three requests a day, with a maximum of one chapter per book per day.

The Teaching Collection

You will also find at the Service Desk our extensive Teaching Collection, which comprises nearly 6,000 DVDs, Blu-Rays, VHS tapes, and 16mm film reels. 

Faculty members can book Teaching Collection items to use in class for up to two weeks at a time. Have your syllabus set for the semester? You can book an entire semester’s worth of screenings in advance so you can rest easy knowing your teaching material will be ready for you when you need it. Just ask the Service Desk or email our Coordinator of Media Resources, Maureen Tripp at maureen_trip@emerson.edu.

Students have access to the Teaching Collection too! Students can use Teaching Collection materials in the library for up to two hours (or the length of the film if longer) at a time.

Other Items

You can also borrow the following items at the Service Desk to use in the library:

  • Laptops

  • Headphones

  • External disc drive

Contact the Desk

The Service Desk is open whenever the library is open. Contact us at 617-824-8668 or by emailing us at library@emerson.edu.