Emerson College Library: Media Collection: Home

Circulation and Scheduling

The Teaching Video Collection circulates to instructors for class use or for preview. Videos for class may be borrowed by instructors or their representatives (for example, a student enrolled in a class or a graduate assistant), but the instructor must call or email ahead of time to authorize the representative. Students may borrow these materials for class presentations only, and must have authorization from their instructor.

Schedule Teaching Collection Video by calling the Library service desk at 617-824-8668, or email the library.

Audio CDs follow the same loan policies as books. DVDs in the Circulating Video Collection can be borrowed for seven days, by all patrons. A maximum of three DVDs can be borrowed at one time.

Reserves

Media reserves: Reserve items from the Teaching collection for a specific time. Reserving these items prevents them from circulating outside the Library, and ensures that media items are available for student viewing. Request that items be put on reserve by calling 617-824-8668 or by visiting the Library service desk in person.

Personal collection reserves: Instructors may place their own media materials on reserve by coming to the Library service desk to fill out reserve forms and drop off the materials.

Streaming Video Databases

AVON - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Sometimes referred to as Alexander Street Video. All videos are transcribed. Indexed by subject, people, place, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Online access to a collection of 3800 television documentaries and feature-length films from Films Media Group and films for the Humanities and Sciences. Often includes archival footage. Videos available in Flash format.
Kanopy Streaming Media This link opens in a new window
Offering very limited collection of streaming films from both the Kino-Lorber and Criterion collections of features and documentaries.
National Theatre This link opens in a new window
Featuring 30 high definition streaming videos of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies, as produced by the UK's National Theatre.
On the Boards TV This link opens in a new window
The mission of On the Boards is to introduce audiences to international innovators in contemporary dance, theater and music while developing and presenting new work by promising performing artists in the region. Streaming videos of performances are available in high def and standard video.

Swank Motion Pictures
Non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown. Provides 1 or 3 year streaming licenses for films. Iwasaki Library's Swank collection is built from faculty requests. Swank will not work in the Safari browser.

Theatre in Video, Performance, and Design This link opens in a new window
Contains performances and related material of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Includes footage and interviews with playwrights and directors.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 900,000 evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. NBC Evening News since 1968 and CNN broadcasts from October 1995 can be viewed online.

The Media Collection includes the Teaching Video Collection, the Circulating DVD collection, 16mm films, CDs, and streaming video databases.