Th150: Design Research: History of Fashion & Décor

MoMA's collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 94,000 works are currently available online.

The collection includes approximately 1,800 books and pamphlets, 6,000 photographs, 200 maps, and 13,000 pages from manuscript and archival collections, incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Ulmann's photographs represent important primary source material for historical and ethnographic studies of Appalachian and Gullah culture as well the subject of folk arts and craft traditions.

Mapping Inequality brings the Home Owners' Loan Corporation archives to the public. HOLC's documents contain a wealth of information about how government officials, lenders, and real estate interests surveyed and ensured the economic health of American cities and encouraged policies contributing to inequality.

"You might wonder why the Wisconsin Historical Society owns this collection of nearly four hundred photographs that document Native American agencies, schools, and reservations, none of which are in Wisconsin. It makes more sense when you know that the images were acquired by William Arthur Jones, a resident of Mineral Point, Wisconsin, from 1851 until his death in 1912."

Photos taken between 1860 and present. Photos available for personal and non-commercial use. Search by keyword, person, place, event, etc.

"Searches across archival descriptions, digitized and electronic records, authority records, and web pages from Archives.gov and the Presidential Libraries."

Seven collections including postcards, pathology illustrations. paintings, and portrait engravings.

Over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences.

Over 600 advertisements and historical documents dated between 1911 and 1958, relating to the creation and influence of health-related advertising.

From the historical collections of the Library of Congress. Find primary documents about military history, presidential letters and speeches, films, photographs and posters. Also see what happened on any day in history.

The Beinecke Library at Yale University has digitized more than a million images of collections material.

Free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the NYPL, offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more.

Digital Collections provides online access to UC Berkeley Library’s rare and unique digitized special collections, books, manuscripts, images, photographs, newspapers, and more.

This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries (including Special Collections), University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries.

The Wisconsin Historical Society's Archives has approximately 3 million images in more than 6,000 collections. Materials include photographs, negatives, films, architectural drawings, cartoons, lithographs, posters, and ephemeral materials from private, business, and governmental sources. Collections have a national focus in the areas of 19th century expeditionary photography, Native American images, mass communications, and social action movements including labor and civil rights.