Th150: Design Research: History of Fashion & Décor

Covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health. Includes photos, drawings, maps.

In addition to showcasing traditional facts of national leadership and state power, the Encyclopedia embraces social and cultural developments, non-European history, women's history, religion, health, economics, technology, and other vital but less often reported aspects of the human drama. Here is a chronicle not only of major political events but of ordinary people, covering shifts in the relationships between men and women, developments in leisure, and demographic currents.

The Letterbooks of John Evelyn, a collection of more than eight hundred letters selected by Evelyn himself, constitutes an essential new resource for scholars of seventeenth-century England.

Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) is known as the first published diarist. His eleven-volume work, written between 1660 and 1669, was first published in 1825. Ever since, this chronicler of his time has held readers' fascination. The essential anthology of selections from Samuel Pepys's famous diary is finally available in paperback. By collecting passages by subject, it provides a fresh look at some of the themes running through Pepys's massive work.

Ruth Goodman believes in getting her hands dirty. Drawing on her ownadventures living in re-created Victorian conditions, Goodman serves asour bustling and fanciful guide to nineteenth-century life. Proceeding fromdaybreak to bedtime, this charming, illustrative work celebrates the ordinary lives ofthe most perennially fascinating era of British history. From waking up to the rappingof a "knocker-upper man" on the window pane to lacing into a corset after a round ofcalisthenics, from slipping opium to the little ones to finally retiring to the bedroomfor the ideal combination of "love, consideration, control and pleasure," the weird,wonderful, and somewhat gruesome intricacies of Victorian life are vividly renderedhere. How to Be a Victorian is an enchanting manual for the insatiably curious.

Summarizes the beliefs and values of the Europeans in informative graphs, charts and maps. It includes all European countries and shows how Europeans think about work, family, sexuality, religion, politics, and morality.

Presents data on European migration policies in a clear manner in order to show their consequences and empower their critics. It addresses globalization and migration flows, increased protectionism in controls on international migration, the establishment of asylum and immigration at the heart of European politics, and the consequences of migration controls and the threats to fundamental rights.

The evolving story of the British Isles forms the central theme of this fascinating and compelling atlas, which covers England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales - and the expansion and gradual disintegration of Britain's overseas empire.

Spans four thousand years of history in 154 maps, presenting a vivid picture of a fascinating people and the trials and tribulations which have haunted their story. The themes covered include: Prejudice and Violence- from the destruction of Jewish independence between 722 and 586 BC to the flight from German persecution in the 1930s. Also covers the incidence of anti-semitic attacks in the Americas and Europe.