Emerson College Library: Theatre: Best Bets

Related Guides

Costume & Fashion
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Jul 10, 2024 18 views this year
Theatre Design
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Feb 19, 2025 29 views this year
Music and Musical Theatre
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Feb 19, 2025 84 views this year

Scholarly & Popular Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research. Since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
International Index to the Performing Arts
All aspects of the performing arts from over 200 international periodicals. Includes some full text.
North American Theatre Online
Collection covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre, including books, people, theatres, productions, and production companies. Some full text. Includes images of ephemera like stills, postcards, and posters. Also contains video clips of performances.
Rock's Backpages
Contains full-text music journalism articles, interviews, music criticism and reviews published in large and small music magazines from 1955 onward. Search by artist, band, publication, genre, etc.

Streaming Video

Films on Demand
Online access to a collection of 3800 television documentaries and feature-length films from Films Media Group and films for the Humanities and Sciences. Often includes archival footage. Videos available in Flash format.
Music and Performing Arts
More than 4,000 recorded and filmed performances from around the world.
National Theatre
Featuring 30 high definition streaming videos of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies, as produced by the UK's National Theatre.
North American Theatre Online
Collection covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre, including books, people, theatres, productions, and production companies. Some full text. Includes images of ephemera like stills, postcards, and posters. Also contains video clips of performances.
On the Boards TV
The mission of On the Boards is to introduce audiences to international innovators in contemporary dance, theater and music while developing and presenting new work by promising performing artists in the region. Streaming videos of performances are available in high def and standard video.
Theatre in Video, Performance, and Design
Contains performances and related material of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Includes footage and interviews with playwrights and directors.

Encyclopedias

Cambridge encyclopedia of stage actors and acting [electronic resource] by edited by Simon Williams
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 9781786843319

Publication Date: 2015
Critical Survey of Drama [electronic resource] by editor, Carl Rollyson
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 9781682176399

Publication Date: 2018

Offers detailed coverage of contemporary playwrights who have recently come to be regarded as established figures in the theater--Jez Butterworth, Martin McDonough, Patrick Marber, Marshall Napier, Mark Ravenhill and N.F. Simpson--to name a few. Each dramatist essay provides such ready-reference material as birth and death dates, and a list of the author's major dramatic works.
Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre by Kurt Gñzl; Kurt Gñzl
Call Number: Reference ML102.M88 G3 2001

ISBN: 0028649702

Publication Date: 2001-05-17
Oxford companion to theatre and performance [electronic resource] by edited by Dennis Kennedy
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 9780191727917

Publication Date: 2010
Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
Call Number: Reference GV1585 .C78 2010

ISBN: 9780199563449

Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: [X] PN2035 .O94 2003

ISBN: 0198601743

Publication Date: 2003-05-01

Comprehensive, authoritative. Bibliographies for major entries, "further reading" list, timeline, and thematic table of contents

Terminology

Annotated Dictionary of Technical, Historical, and Stylistic Terms Relating to Theatre and Drama by R.Kerry White
Call Number: [X] PN2035 .W48 1995

ISBN: 0773488731

Publication Date: 1995-01-01
An International Dictionary of Theatre Language by Edward A. Langhans (Editor); Joel Trapido (Contribution by); James R. Brandon (Editor); June V. Gibson (Editor)
Call Number: [X] PN2035 .I5 1985

ISBN: 0313229805

Publication Date: 1985-09-25

Dated but absolutely authoritative. Over 15,000 terms, historical and extant, with citations for many entries. Includes extensive bibliography and brief history of English-language theatre glossaries and dictionaries.
An International vocabulary of technical theatre terms : in eight languages by Kenneth Rae
Call Number: [X] PN2035 .R28

Publication Date: 1964

Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to find books and media materials.

Subject Heading examples:

Yearbooks & Almanacs

Theatre World
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X] PN 2277 .N5 A17
Available issues 1980 - 2013. Annual review with basic information on the previous year's on and off-broadway productions, company series, professional regional companies, theatrical awards, longest-running shows, and obituaries.