Emerson College Library: Television: Industry

Analysis

National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA)
Industry stats on subscribers, units, revenue, broadband, values, prices, and top cable providers.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Market Research Handbooks [electronic resource]
Annually updated handbooks with current trends, forecasts, and analysis of specific markets. Ex: Entertainment, Media, and Advertising; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web; Restaurant Food & Beverage Market; Sports Marketing, etc.
Television & Cable Factbook
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X] TK 6630 .A2 T44 Cable
TV Dimensions
Covers TV industry performance, including everything from "audience fragmentation, program type appeals, viewer attentiveness, and ad impact metrics to how the TV industry is adapting to ensure its continuing profitability, the competitive inroads made by subscription video on demand (SVOD), and how the upfront time buying process works and can be improved."
more...less...
Reference Desk HE8700.8 .T917

Variety Insight This link opens in a new window
Access instructions here. Entertainment data provider including verified, timely, and accurate metadata around people, projects, and companies that work in the global entertainment business - including film, television, and digital media. Also covers deals, film festivals, awards, and more. 5 Simultaneous user limit. Access instructions here.

MediaGazer
Presents the day's must-read international and U.S. media news on a single scrolling page.

Nielsen Top Ten - TV Ratings
Previous week's ratings for Top 10 TV programs in several categories. Also includes top-rated TV advertisements.
TV By The Numbers - zap2it.com
Daily, weekly, and DVR ratings. Includes renewals and cancellations.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.

Use chart below to identify television review sources.

Use television indexes and catalogs (such as IMDB) to determine the date of the program's broadcast.
Check the chart below to identify library databases providing reviews for the year of broadcast. The legend below the indicates format (online v. print) and content (some full-text v. index only).
Use www.emerson.edu/library/databases to browse databases by name. Search within a database for program title + review. Example: "Stranger Things" and review.
Ask a librarian for assistance if you get stuck!

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X] HE 8689 .B77
Statistics and listings for broadcast television, cable, radio, programming, technology, professional services, associations, events, awards, education, and government. An invaluable resource.

Cision Point Media/PR Directory This link opens in a new window
Formerly the print Bacon's directories for print media, TV, and radio, Cision provides contact and content notes for media figures around the world. Training & tutorials here. All use must comply with this privacy policy. Available only on Library PCs, See Reference Librarian for login.
SRDS Online This link opens in a new window
Advertising rates, circulation, and contact info for newspapers, magazines, TV and cable, radio, and online services. Also provides Claritas consumer demographics data by state, county and DMA - Boston data included. For definitions of advertising terms on digital platforms (like cost-per-click, cost-per-impression, etc.) see Glossary for Digital Media and Planning, standardized and published by Internet Advertising Bureau.

TV Commercial Casting & Production Directory
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X] PN 1992.8 .A3 C66
From Backstage/Ross Reports.