Emerson College Library: Television: History

History of Television

The American Television Critic: a history [electronic resource] by Melissa Crawley
ISBN: 1476669368
Publication Date: 2017-02-23
Ebook
1 simultaneous user
Birth of the binge: serial TV and the end of leisure [electronic resource] by Dennis Broe
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0814345271
Publication Date: 2019
Early Television by George Shiers; Elliot N. Sivowitch (Contribution by); May Shiers (As told to); Diana Menkes (Editor); Christopher H. Sterling (Contribution by)
Call Number: Reference [X] TK6637 .S49 1996
ISBN: 0824077822
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Reality TV and queer identities : sexuality, authenticity, celebrity [electronic resource] by Michael Lovelock
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9783030142155
Publication Date: 2019
Examines queer visibility in reality television, which is arguably the most prolific space of gay, lesbian, transgender and otherwise queer media representation. It explores almost two decades of reality programming, from Big Brother to I Am Cait, American Idol to RuPaul's Drag Race, arguing that the specific conventions of reality TV - its intimacy and emotion, its investments in celebrity and the ideal of authenticity - have inextricably shaped the ways in which queer people have become visible in reality shows.
SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by Debra L. Merskin (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HM1206 .S23 2020
ISBN: 9781483375533
Publication Date: 2019-12-17
5 volumes
Watching TV: eight decades of American television by Harry Castleman; Walter J. Podrazik
Call Number: PN1992.5.U5 C37 2016
ISBN: 0815634382
Publication Date: 2016-01-04

Images of Television History

Museum of the Moving Image
3,600 images in the collection database.
Eyes of a Generation
Private collection site.

Programs

Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 Through 2007 by Vincent Terrace
Call Number: Reference N1992.3.U5 T463 2009
ISBN: 9780786433056
Publication Date: 2008-10-14
Television's Top 100: the most-watched American broadcasts, 1960-2010 by Wesley Hyatt
Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 H96 2012
ISBN: 9780786448913
Publication Date: 2011-11-30

TV Guide Index
(1953-1988) Shelved with TV Guide

Museums & Archives

Paley Center for Media
The Paley Center for Media has an international collection of nearly 150,000 programs covering almost 100 years of television and radio history, including news, public affairs programs and documentaries, performing arts programs, children's programming, sports, comedy and variety shows, and commercial advertising. Programming from overseventy countries is represented in the collection.
Museum of the Moving Image
Moving Image houses artifacts from every stage of producing, promoting, and exhibiting motion pictures, television, and digital media, more than 130,000 objects in all. Holdings include licensed merchandise, technical apparatus, still photographs, production design materials, costumes, fan magazines, publicity materials, and video and computer games.
Museum of Broadcast Communications - TV Archives
The Archives Catalog contains thousands of records, including over 7,000 television clips and thousands of photographs; free registration required.
UCLA Film & Television Archive
With over 220,000 films and television programs, and 27 million feet of newsreel footage, the UCLA Film and Television Archive is the world's largest university-held collection of motion pictures and broadcast programming.

Library Media Collection

120 Boylston Street, 3rd Floor, 617.824.867

The media collection includes videotapes, DVDs, 16mm films, laserdiscs, audiocassettes, and CDs which span the range of disciplines in Emerson’s curriculum.

To search the Library Catalog and limit your results to media collection materials, use the Advanced search tab and select the location of "Emerson Media."