Emerson College Library: Stress Awareness Month: Emerson Resources

Unwind at the Iwasaki Library

New York Times Cooking and Games
Did you know that as a part of the Emerson Community, you have free access to the New York Times Online? Your free NYT account also includes the NYT Cooking and Games. Library Staff highly recommend the NYT Crossword, both mini and full version!
Flipster Magazines
Want to take a break from assigned reading, but don't feel like tackling a novel? Emerson's Iwasaki Library now provides access to a variety of magazines online in the Flipster format. These magazines are available to all Emerson users and include the current issue as well as an extensive collection of back issues.

Items for In-Library Use

The Iwasaki Library is excited to share some new sensory items to help bust stress when studying, working, or just hanging out in the library!
We have two weighted lap pads, which are great for improving your mood by providing a gentle pressure to help center yourself while sitting.
There are also Calm Strips hanging up at the Service Desk for your sensory needs, providing a great fidget tool for getting some of the restless energy out when you're stressing out.

Relax with Streaming Media

Swank Motion Pictures
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. The Library leases feature films from Swank for one year, when requested by faculty for use in classes.
Kanopy Streaming films
Streaming media from the Criterion Collection, Kino-Lorber, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many other producers of both feature and documentary/journalism films and videos.

Emerson Groups and Centers

#Mindbodysouljustice
#Mindbodysouljustice is a collaborative set of programs and initiatives to bring increased wellness and liberation to individuals and communities at Emerson College. Collaboration between the Center for Spiritual Life, Intercultural Student Affairs, Counseling and Psychological Services (ECAPS), Center for Health and Wellness, and the Fitness Center.
Center for Spiritual Life
The Center for Spiritual Life is Emerson’s inclusive, multifaith hub for religious and spiritual programming, support, and education. Our team of chaplains and student leaders work to foster a campus environment where faith traditions and spirituality can be practiced freely and wholly.
Emerson's Fitness Center
At the Emerson College Fitness Center, we have plenty of cardiovascular equipment including stair steppers, treadmills, elliptical machines, bicycles, and rowers; strength training equipment and a variety of free weights; and an open exercise area for warm-ups, cool-downs, stretching, or yoga. Amenities also include showers with private dressing areas in the locker room, and our experienced fitness staff are on-hand to provide guidance and answers to your questions.

Learn About Stress at the University Level

A Student's Guide to Stress Management
In this 2018 short film, leading experts discuss how to manage stress at a collegiate level A Student's Guide to Stress Management provides viewers with a foundational understanding of what stress is, how to manage it, and how it can even be helpful! Grounded in research, but also accessible, this video will help students increase their understanding of stress, and how to turn it into opportunities for growth and success.

Mindfulness for the Next Generation by Holly Rogers and Margaret Maytan
College students and other young adults today are experiencing high levels of stress as they pursue personal, educational, and career goals. This book explains the specific model created by the authors and describes each session in a 'mini-manual' format. Mindfulness for the Next Generation is written for therapists, teachers, health professionals, and student service providers who work with college students and other emerging adults.
Under Pressure and Overwhelmed by Christopher Vye, Kathlene Scholljegerdes, and I. David Welch
Several recent studies have found that anxiety is increasing among college students. This book helps students (and their parents and counselors) deal effectively with predictable anxieties associated with college. The authors offer suggestions and techniques, based on extensive research on the treatment of anxiety, to help students cope more effectively with the common sources of anxiety.
Coping with Faculty Stress by Walter H. Gmelch
This useful book outlines the chief forms and major causes of academic stress. Practical advice shows how to distinguish negative from positive stress and how to deal with negative stressors in life and at work. The book includes exercises to help the academic understand how stress affects him or her, as well as forms to help design programmes for coping with stress.
What to Do When College Is Not the Best Time of Your Life by David Leibow
If college is supposed to be the best time of our lives, why are so many students unhappy? What causes a well-adjusted and academically successful high school graduate to suddenly flounder when he reaches college? Why might she start to binge on alcohol or engage in unsatisfying hook-ups? Where does the anger and self-doubt come from, and why is it directed at loving parents? Drawing on years of experience treating college-age youth, Leibow provides practice-based answers to these and other pressing questions.