Emerson College Library: Communication Sciences & Disorders: Resources

Comm Disorders MultiSearch

Below are the major databases for the communication disorders literature. Relevant journals are also indexed in Expanded Academic ASAP, Academic Search Premier, MLA International Bibliography, ProQuest Central, and Health Reference Center Academic.

ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles, books, dissertations, grants, web resources, researchers, and institutions.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Developed from a merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts databases. Includes many unique sources. Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies. Subject-specific thesaurus.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The free database Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to indexing and some full text for education, educational psychology, and child development.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from thousands of medical journals, including many articles on the treatment of communication disorders published in key journals. Includes all references and most content available in the (free) PubMed database.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language, including hearing and speech physiology, learning disabilities, nonverbal communication, and special education.

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full text of 42 journals from the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers the scholarly literature of psychology and behavior including journals such as Communication Disorders Quarterly, Journal of Neurolinguistics and Topics in Language Disorders.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.

Search the Library Catalog to find books and media materials.

Subject examples:

Search the list of journals, magazines and newspapers to which the library subscribes.

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
Research, news, and health information from one of the National Institutes of Health.
ASHA Evidence Maps
Evidence maps are intended to provide clinicians, researchers, clients, and caregivers with tools and guidance to engage in evidence-based decision making. These maps highlight the importance of the three components of evidence-based practice (EBP). External Scientific Evidence, Clinical Expertise/Expert Opinion, and Client/Patient/Caregiver Perspectives.
NSSLHA membership
Membership here for students in degree programs provides significant savings in accessing ASHA publications and data. You can even join ASHA Special interest Groups (with unique publications!) for $10/year!
Publications of ASHA
Only some publications from the American Speech & Hearing Association are provided via the Library. However, all of these publications are accessible via InterLibrary Loan or via Google Scholar .

6 QuickSteps to configure Google Scholar
This guide will walk you through setting up Google Scholar to provide access to materials available in our databases

A Quick guide to using Zotero
This 5 minute video highlights how to use Zotero to collect and manage information and generate bibliographies.
Citation & Style