Emerson College Library: CC100: Fundamentals of Speech Communication: IDEA Persuasive Speech

Multisearch

Multisearch Hacks
Get faster, more focused results with these search strategies. Applicable to Multisearch, and to other EBSCO-brand library databases.

Multisearch Help
Sometimes you need to go straight to the source. EBSCO's Help menu offers authoritative instruction on creating a strong search; auto-formatting a citation; emailing, batch-emailing, printing, or saving an article; saving articles in a temporary folder; saving a search or email alert for newly published articles on your designated topic, and more.

Background Infomation

In order to provide a solid understanding of the position that you are advocating for, you'll need to consult reference sources for background information. The resources listed here will get you started regardless of your topic. For further assistance, ask a reference librarian.

Academic Search Premier
Full text coverage of social sciences, humanities, business, general science, and education.
Credo Reference
Collection of virtual encyclopedias with over 3 million entries from 300+ reference books in a variety of subjects.
Statista

If link above is not working, Use This Link! Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research in the arts and sciences.

Researching an Issue

Use these resources to help you select an issue for your IDEA project, or, to explore your chosen issue.

CQ Researcher
Weekly reports on topics of current interest, with pro and con arguments. Limited to 5 users at a time.
Issues and Controversies
Current in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides issue-based information on controversial topics. Strong emphasis on pro and con viewpoint articles, with additional reference articles, primary sources, and statistics for context.
New York Times Digital - NYTimes.com
To use: see the guide on how to create an account. You will need to create an Emerson account with your Emerson email at Accessnyt.com before reading the NYTimes. After creating an account, you can register for access to Games and Cooking.
Washington Post
Access the the Washington Post is available at this link. You may, when accessing here, create a personal account using your @emerson.edu address.
Wall Street Journal - wsj.com
To create an account using your Emerson email address: Create your account on this Emerson page and register your email and create a unique password. Select your role at Emerson (student/faculty). You should receive an account authentication email within 10 minutes of submitting from WallStreetJournal@t.dowjones.com.
Boston Globe
Full-text searchable articles from The Boston Globe, including articles from today's paper. 1980-present. Library holdings

Helpful LibGuides

Newspapers
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Jul 10, 2024 613 views this year

Data and Statistics
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Sep 16, 2025 218 views this year

Techniques of persuasion
(Check out the Public speaking guide at the bottom!)
(See what I did there?)

CC100: Fundamentals of Speech Communication

Multisearch

MultiSearch

Background Infomation

Researching an Issue

Helpful LibGuides