Emerson College Library: Publishing: Book

Ad Expenditures

Winmo (previously Advertising Red Books) This link opens in a new window
Contains information about national and international agencies and advertisers, such as business classification, agency of record, media expenditures, to which brands are owned by what company, client lists, and billings.

Books in Print - Professional This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. books currently in print, out of print titles, and forthcoming titles. Includes selected reviews. From on campus, use BooksinPrint.com for a more user-friendly approach to the same data.
MRI / Simmons University Reporter (previously MRI Mediamark Reporter) This link opens in a new window
Demographic and marketing information based on an industry-standard national survey of product usage, consumer attitudes, and media exposure. Limit of 10 simultaneous users.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal providing current data and infographics a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising, book publishing and digital publishing, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more.

Library and Book Trade Almanac by Information Today, Inc.
Call Number: Reference Desk [X Ready Ref] Z731 .A47
Publication Date: Current Year
Stats, trends, and analysis of the U.S. book industry. Includes ebooks data, as well as average retail price of books-by-type over time.

CLMP: Literary Press and Magazine Directory
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X] PN2 .L58. 2008-2009
From the Council of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP).
ILMP: International Literary Market Place
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X ReadyRef] PN 161 .I5

LMP - Literary Marketplace - This link opens in a new window
Literary Market Place (LMP) is the directory of book publishing covering publishing houses and personnel in America and Canada, as well as 180 other countries. Includes category indexes. Use to find names, addresses, submission guidelines, and representation (agents), along with distribution, writing conferences and retreats, competitions and fellowships, and library associations. Access is limited to 4 users at one time. Available in print [X ReadyRef] PN 161 .L5 at library’s reference desk or online.

Alternative Publishers of Books in North America, 6th Edition [electronic resource] and print by Byron Anderson (Compiled by); Alternatives in Publication Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association (Associate Editor); Nancy Kranich (Preface by)
Call Number: [X] Z475 .A576 2006
ISBN: 0977861724
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Writer's Market by Cincinnati, F & W Publications
Call Number: [X ReadyRef] PN161 .W83
Publication Date: Current Year
Provides information on where to sell articles, books, fillers, greeting cards, novels, plays, scripts and short stories. Lists literary agents, contests, and offers advice on getting published

NPD BookScan
NPD BookScan licenses access to individual users, not institutions like libraries. Iwasaki Library does not have access to this resource. Helpful statistics on book sales and consumers by point-of-purchase can also be found in Statista and Gfk MRI Mediamark University Reporter, respectively.

What is it? "NPD BookScan™ is the gold standard in POS tracking for the publishing market. It covers approximately 85 percent of trade print books sold in the U.S., through direct reporting from all major retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, Target, independent bookstores, and many others. Data is available to subscribing publishers and contributing retailers, just four days after the period ends, via the NPD BookScan dashboard." - description NPD website