U.S. History

Drawn from the award-winning 5-volume Encyclopedia of War, this valuable, one-volume reference provides readers with essential information on the conflicts and concepts that shaped global warfare in the twentieth-century and up to the present day. Provides essential coverage ofnbsp;twentieth-century warfare across the world Incorporates entries on all major wars, conflicts and concepts in the study of warfare during the period Features detailed coverage of the First and Second World Wars, along with conflicts including the Russo-Japanese War, the Greco-Turkish War, the Falklands Conflict, the Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan, the Gulf Wars, the War Against Terrorism, and the Somalian Civil War Covers topics including chemical warfare, ethnic cleansing, psychological warfare, and women and war Creates annbsp;affordable and handy personal reference for students of modern and contemporary history, professional scholars, and military history enthusiasts Comprises authoritative, up-to-date content - each entry ranging from 1,000 to 6,000 words - written by the best international scholars

Over the past decade, illiberal powers have become emboldened and gained influence within the global arena. Leading authoritarian countries--including China, Iran, Russia, Saudi Arabia, and Venezuela--have developed new tools and strategies to contain the spread of democracy and challenge the liberal international political order. Meanwhile, the advanced democracies have retreated, failing to respond to the threat posed by the authoritarians. As undemocratic regimes become more assertive, they are working together to repress civil society while tightening their grip on cyberspace and expanding their reach in international media. These political changes have fostered the emergence of new counternorms--such as the authoritarian subversion of credible election monitoring--that threaten to further erode the global standing of liberal democracy.

From the French and Indian War in 1754, with Benjamin Franklin's Join or Die cartoon, to the present war in Iraq, propaganda has played a significant role in American history. The Historical Dictionary of American Propaganda provides more than 350 entries, focusing primarily on propaganda created by the U.S. government throughout its existence.

This book examines the history of the legal discourse around political falsehood and its future in the wake of the 2012 US Supreme Court decision in US v. Alvarez through communication law, political philosophy, and communication theory perspectives. As US v. Alvarez confirmed First Amendment protection for lies, Robert N. Spicer addresses how the ramifications of that decision function by looking at statutory and judicial handling of First Amendment protection for political deception. Illustrating how commercial speech is regulated but political speech is not, Spicer evaluates the role of deception in politics and its consequences for democracy in a contemporary political environment where political personalities, partisan media, and dark money donors bend the truth and abuse the virtue of free expression.