U.S. History

Compiled by the American Antiquarian Society, this collection of historic news sources covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, art, business, industry, education, entertainment, science and medicine, religion, family life, literature, politics, and women’s studies. 1684-1912

With your Boston Public Library card you can login to Archive Finder to search for archival collections related to your subject.

Search archives by topic of interest. Refine results by geographical location, person, group, or archives.

Provides a collection of selected primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. These sources document the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it. Provided freely by ProQuest.

Descriptions of daily life in different cultures from prehistory to the present. Choose era, geography, or event. Includes primary source documents.

A rich digital library of more than 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archaeology, which can be viewed online at full resolution and downloaded at reduced size for projects and presentations. Register an account to save and download images. See the Artstor users guides to learn more.

Contains hundreds of thousands of photos and graphics from the Associated Press, most taken since 1995, plus historical images dating back to the 1800s.

Research hub made up of Berg Fashion Library, a collection of over 200 fashion reference texts. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts. Major reference works and eBook, srunway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and thousands of images from museums around the world to create a rich educational resource.

Online access to a collection of 3800 television documentaries and feature-length films from Films Media Group and films for the Humanities and Sciences. Often includes archival footage. Videos available in Flash format.

Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (1959-present)

Compiled by the American Antiquarian Society, this collection of historic news sources covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, art, business, industry, education, entertainment, science and medicine, religion, family life, literature, politics, and women’s studies. 1684-1912

A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. 1969-present

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps, images, and travel journals. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.

Full-text articles and images from 1872-1979. Local, Massachusetts, and national history primary source.

Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (1959-present)