Emerson College Library: TH215 & TH203 World Drama : Best Bets

Related Guides

Costume & Fashion
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Jun 28, 2023 23 views this year
Theatre Design
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Oct 16, 2023 17 views this year
Music and Musical Theatre
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Nov 16, 2023 37 views this year
Theatre
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 231 views this year

Intro

Reference books and encyclopedias provide background information and context for research topics. Many of the following books contain bibliographies that you can use to find books and articles on your topic.

Critical Survey of Drama by Carl E. Rollyson (Editor); Frank N. Magill (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: [X] PN1625 .C68 2003
ISBN: 1587651025
Publication Date: 2003-04-01

Drama Criticism
Call Number: Emerson Reference [X] PN1601 .D59

International Dictionary of Theatre by Mark Hawkins-Dady (Editor)
Call Number: [X ReadyRef] PN2035 .I49 1992
ISBN: 1558620958
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama by McGraw-Hill Staff; Daniel Gerould (Preface by)
Call Number: [X] PN1625 .M3 1984
ISBN: 0070791694
Publication Date: 1984-01-01

New Plays

American Theatre
Each issue features reports on plays in print, performances, and theater season schedules in the US and abroad. Includes full-length play scripts for "major new plays" five times per year (print edition only). Includes interviews with featured playwright(s).

New Play Exchange (NPX) This link opens in a new window
New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, claims to be the world’s largest digital full text library of scripts by living writers. Designed and built with the needs of the new play sector in mind, NPX serves writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and theater fans. Search by genre, including experimental, musical, opera, radio drama, horror, and many others. Performance rights to these plays are not included, but information on obtaining those rights is made available.

TheatreForum
Documents and discusses the work of innovative theatre artists in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Americas with a focus on new performance works that reflect contemporary sensibilities and articulate new concepts and forms. Each issue includes at least two previously unpublished scripts (print edition only).

FLO Library Catalog

Search the FLO Library Catalog to find books and media materials.

Full version

Subject heading examples: