Emerson College Library: Political Science: Best Bets

Multisearch

Multisearch Hacks
Get faster, more focused results with these search strategies. Applicable to Multisearch, and to other EBSCO-brand library databases.

Multisearch Help
Sometimes you need to go straight to the source. EBSCO's Help menu offers authoritative instruction on creating a strong search; auto-formatting a citation; emailing, batch-emailing, printing, or saving an article; saving articles in a temporary folder; saving a search or email alert for newly published articles on your designated topic, and more.

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of social sciences, humanities, business, general science, and education.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports on topics of current interest, with pro and con arguments. Limited to 5 users at a time.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Includes access to several international news sources.
OxResearch This link opens in a new window
Delivers succinct articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide, and evaluates issues within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. The objective, multidisciplinary articles are compiled by an international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities, as well as think-tanks and other institutions.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Results from over 12,000 surveys on a variety of topics.

Country Profiles

CIA World Factbook
Entries for each country include maps, statistics, and analysis of Geography, People, Government, Economy, Communications, Transportation, Military, Transnational Issues, Water, People, Government, Economy, and more.

Statesman's Year Book
Call Number: [X ReadyRef] JA51 .S7 (Ask at service desk)
Publication Date: most current
Annual hardback publication covering the politics, cultures and economies of all of the countries of the world plus major international organizations. Both statistics and analysis. Updated every year.

United Nations Country Profiles
Economic, social, and environment / infrastructure indicators.

Alternative Press

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. 1969-present
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 150 countries.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (1959-present)
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a repository of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and NGO, government and special reports on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.

New eBooks

FLO Library Catalog

Search the FLO Library Catalog to find books and media materials.

Full version

Subject heading examples:

Selected Reference

Global social issues : an encyclopedia [electronic resource] by Christopher G. Bates and James Ciment, editors
Call Number: eReference
ISBN: 9781784027117
Publication Date: 2013
The Princeton encyclopedia of American political history [electronic resource] by Michael Kazin, editor ; associate editors Rebecca Edwards, Adam Rothman
Call Number: eReference
ISBN: 9781785398100
Publication Date: 2010
Essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics. Covers major forces that have shaped American politics. Addresses both traditional topics - -such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents --- and wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought [electronic resource] by Gerhard Bowering (Editor); Frank Griffel (Contribution by); Bernard Haykel (Contribution by); Mahan Mirza (Editor); Robert W. Hefner (Contribution by); Timur Kuran (Contribution by); Jane McAuliffe (Contribution by); Ebrahim Moosa (Contribution by); Richard Bulliet (Contribution by); David Cook (Contribution by); Patricia Crone (Editor); Wadad Kadi (Editor); Roxanne L. Euben (Contribution by); Khaled Fahmy (Contribution by); Devin J. Stewart (Editor); Muhammad Qasim Zaman (Editor)
Call Number: eReference
ISBN: 140083855X
Publication Date: 2012-11-28
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Nigel Young (Editor)
Call Number: Reference [X] JZ5533 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195334685
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Twentieth-Century War and Conflict a Concise Encyclopedia [electronic resource] by Gordon Martel
ISBN: 1118884663
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
Ebook

News on Democracy and Human Rights

Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 7 million people in over 150 countries and territories who campaign to end abuses of human rights.
Democracy Now
Daily independent news program, hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez, airing on over 800 stations.
Freedom House
Freedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization. Established in 1978, Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups.
North American Congress on Latin America
The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1966 that works toward a world in which the nations and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean are free from oppression and injustice, and enjoy a relationship with the United States based on mutual respect, free from economic and political subordination.
Minority Rights Group International
Minority Rights Group International campaigns worldwide with around 130 partners in over 60 countries to ensure that disadvantaged minorities and indigenous peoples, often the poorest of the poor, can make their voices heard.

Political Science

Multisearch

MultiSearch

Databases

Country Profiles

Alternative Press

New eBooks

FLO Library Catalog

Selected Reference

News on Democracy and Human Rights