Emerson College Library: Law: Best Bets

Databases

Hein Online
HeinOnline contains more than 140 million pages and 125,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Nexis Uni (previously Lexis Nexis Academic)
Click the Legal tab to find law review articles, cases, legislation, statutes, codes, treaties, constitutions, administrative materials, regulations, and more.

Legal Reference

Legal Information Institute (LII)
LII is a research and electronic publishing activity of Cornell University Law School. Popular collections include: the U.S. Code, Supreme Court opinions, and Wex, a legal dictionary and encyclopedia.
Wex
A collaboratively built, freely available legal dictionary and encyclopedia from Cornell University's Legal Information Institute (LII).
"In a Nutshell" Law Titles
Series of compact, easy-to-read books designed as introductions and summations of law. Ex: copyright law and intellectual property, mass communication law. If the library doesn't have the Nutshell legal title you need, try Interlibrary Loan or Suggest a Purchase.

Dictionary of legal terms : definitions and explanations for non-lawyers [electronic resource] by Steven H. Gifis
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 9781785397998

Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of religion and the law in America [electronic resource] by Christopher Thomas Anglim
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 9781784028916

Publication Date: 2009
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history [electronic resource] by Howard Chiang, editor in chief ; associate editors, Anjali Arondekar
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 0684325543

Publication Date: 2019

Research Basics

Legal research: how to find & understand the law
Call Number: Emerson Reference: [X] KF240 .E35 2003

Writing & Citation Style Guides

Use the Library's Style and Citations Guides pages to find authoritative sources on how to format your work and properly cite your references, including citation examples in both the APA and MLA citation styles.