Skip to main content

VM105 - Introduction to Visual Art

Boston Public Library (BPL)

In order to access the resources of the BPL you must have a library card. You can obtain a library card by vistiting any branch of the BPL, be sure to bring your student ID or Massachusettes driver's liscence. OR, obtain an e-card online.

"A Boston Public Library eCard is a virtual library card that allows you to instantly use all of our online resources. eCard users who wish to check out library materials or reserve museum passes must first upgrade to a standard BPL card."

Once you have obtained an library card or e-card, head over to the Electronic Resources section of the BPL website, and look for Resources by Subject - Art. In this section you will find all of the BPL electronic resources related to art.

Be sure to check out:

Art Full Text: "Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more."

Art Index Retrospective: "Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of art and architecture published in over 420 international periodicals between 1929 and August 1984."

Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals: " Index to periodicals in architecture and design. Coverage: 1930s to the present (with selected coverage dating back to 1860)."

Local Art Libraries

The Library at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design is open to Emerson Students. You may visit, browse, and check out books from their collection, OR you can request items through the FLO catalog.

The William Morris Hunt Memorial Library at the Museum of Fine Arts is open to Emerson Students. You may visit the library and read books in their collection, however these items must stay in the library. You can view their holdings in the FLO Library Catalog.

The W. Van Alan Clark Jr Library at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts is open to Emerson Students. You may visit, browse, and check out books from their collection, OR you can request items through the FLO catalog.

Books

WorldCat logo

Use WorldCat to search for books on your topic that may not be in the Emerson College collection. You may request these resources through InterLibrary Loan

Request from Other Libraries

Emerson patrons can submit up to 5 requests per day. Please submit requests in order of priority. No more than 5 requests will be processed each day per person.

Local Art Museums