Best Bets

Related Guides

Costume & Fashion
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Jul 10, 2024 64 views this year
Visual Art
by Emerson Reference Last Updated Sep 25, 2024 99 views this year

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Content: artist biographies, definitions of art terminology, description of art movements, and images. Includes Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Resources in the broader Oxford Art Online may not be available. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
JSTOR & ArtStor This link opens in a new window
ArtStore is a digital library of more than 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archaeology, which can be viewed online at full resolution and downloaded at reduced size for projects and presentations. JSTOR contains complete full-text runs of 10,000+ top Scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes ebooks and primary source documents. For expanded JSTOR access, register for a free eCard through Boston Public Library. For help, see the JSTOR users' guides.

FLO Library Catalog

Search the FLO Library Catalog to find books and media materials.

Full version

Subject heading examples:

Museum Resources

Many art museums publish an abundance of information on their website. The following museums all have created dynamic resources that you can use to research objects, artists and art historical themes. When researching an object try to find out if it belongs in a specific museum's collection, if so visit the museum website to search for information about the object.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art
"The Timeline of Art History presents the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index."
The Getty Research Institute
The Getty provides many free resources to researchers. Including: The Open Content Program (images of art objects). The Research Portal (Access to complete digital copies of art history texts, rare books, and related literature). And many more!
Louvre Museum - Digitized Collection
"The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums." Explore the digitized collection of The Louvre for free.