Skip to Main Content

Today's Hours:  

Streaming Video

Provides descriptions and links to licensed, internet, and pay-per-view streaming video resources

Free Sites for Streaming Video

 

  • Internet Archive.  Digital movies uploaded by Archive users, ranging from full-length films, to news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. 
  • Movieclips. Movie clips from Universal Studios, 20th Century Fox, MGM, Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., Sony Pictures Entertainment and other studios. Search by movie, actor, genre, director, prop, action, mood, or theme.
  • National Film Board of Canada. Documentary and animated films from Canada's public producer and distributor.
  • PBS Video Video of the national programming and locally produced shows from the Public Broadcasting Service, including American Masters, Great Performances, Nova, POV, and many others.
  • WGBH Open Vault.  Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.  Search by broad categories of content, or by collections and series, including The Advocates and Say Brother. 

Even More Free Streaming

Many Internet sites provide access to streaming videos, either by hosting content or by pointing to content hosted elsewhere. Search features on these sites vary widely, and content can be changed or removed at any time. Browse a selection of internet streaming video sites below.

  • American Experience. Browse the entire PBS American Experience series featuring over 250 films. Watch full films online, download teacher’s guides, go behind the scenes, and learn more about your favorite films.
  • American Memory.  Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library's American Memory collections.
  • American Rhetoric. Dedicated to rhetoric and public communication in the United States. Offers an archive of speeches, movie speeches, and audio figures of speech.
  • Archive of American Television. Founded in 1998 by the Television Academy Foundation, the Archive consists of oral history interviews about the birth and growth of American TV history.  The Archive adds new interviews each year, chronicling the ongoing history of televsion. The collection can be searched by people interviewed, professions, and genres.
  • C-SPAN Video Library. Comprehensive collection of governmental and political content, totaling over 204,000 hours of programming.  The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making it possible to search by people, topic, and even bills before Congress.
  • Disabled World.  Video clips for and about disabled people, including demonstrations of assistive technology, disability sports, homemade videos, teaching disability topics in classrooms, and general health information. Videos for the deaf and hearing impaired include news and disability topics in British Sign Language (BSL), American Sign Language (ASL), and captioning.
  • Folkstreams. Streaming documentary films about American roots cultures. Includes essays about the folk traditions and filmmaking, as well as transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
  • Frontline. A selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.