Emerson College Library: Writing for Film and Television: Historical Context

Databases

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. 1969-present
American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps, images, and travel journals. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.
Biography Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of biographical information, including articles from magazines and newspapers.
Black Freedom Struggle in the US This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of selected primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. These sources document the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it. Provided freely by ProQuest.
Boston Globe Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from 1872-1979. Local, Massachusetts, and national history primary source.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Descriptions of daily life in different cultures from prehistory to the present. Choose era, geography, or event. Includes primary source documents.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (1959-present)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Online access to a collection of 3800 television documentaries and feature-length films from Films Media Group and films for the Humanities and Sciences. Often includes archival footage. Videos available in Flash format.
JSTOR & ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text runs of 10,000+ top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes ebooks and primary source documents. For expanded JSTOR access, register for a free eCard through Boston Public Library. For help, see the JSTOR users' guides.

Emerson College Archives

Collections available for research at the Emerson College Archives located on the 2nd floor of the Walker Building. These collections are available for research by appointment only and do not circulate. If you would like more information or would like to set up an appointment to research the collections please contact Christina Zamon, Head of Archives and Special Collections at 617-824-8679 or by email.

Online Collections

Below are a list of links to online collections. For information on how to cite online collections see: http://www.dianahacker.com/resdoc/

Archive of American Television
Archive of American Television has conducted over 600 long-form videotaped interviews with the pioneers of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History. The Archive’s vision is to chronicle electronic media history as it evolves, whatever form it may take and make the interviews available worldwide. We have digitized over 2,000 hours of original content, making hundreds of interviews accessible online.

Howard Gotlieb Archives @ Boston University

Below is a list of collections related to film and television that provide historical context for the genre. These collections are available to researchers by contacting the Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center.

Requests for applications, appointments, and questions can be sent to:
Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center 
Boston University 
ATTN: Public Service
771 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Phone: 617-353-3696
Fax: 617-353-2838
E-mail: archives@bu.edu