Emerson College Library: VM370/600 Business of Media: Marketing & Demographics

Market Research

MRI / Simmons University Reporter (previously MRI Mediamark Reporter)
Demographic and marketing information based on an industry-standard national survey of product usage, consumer attitudes, and media exposure. Limit of 10 simultaneous users.
Mintel Insights & Analytics
Offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Reports provide data and analysis of the competitive landscape, trends, and consumer profiles. Use requires creating a personal account using an emerson.edu email address. Short (2 min) Mintel video tutorials.

New Strategist Publications [electronic resource]
Annual in-depth analysis of American demographic slices, like Baby Boomers, Generation X, Millennials, Hispanic Americans, etc. Also includes analysis of American spending patterns by different demographic characteristics like gender, race, Hispanic origin, income level, etc.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks from Richard K. Miller & Associates [electronic resource]
Consumer market handbooks with current trends, forecasts, and analysis of specific markets. Ex: Entertainment, Media, and Advertising; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web; Restaurant Food & Beverage Market; Sports Marketing, etc. Updated every year.

General BusinessFile ASAP
Business trends, technologies, products, and company profiles. Includes some full text.
Nexis Uni (previously Lexis Nexis Academic)
Newspaper articles, wire services, legal, broadcast, and business news. Includes Company Info Search with financials (for publically traded companies), executives, current company news, SEC filings, mergers and acquisitions. Complementary with Proquest News database.
Wall Street Journal
Full-text articles of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.

The library has plenty of books on marketing. Try using the following books as a starting point for new media marketing.

IMDB and other resources can help you find the facts, statistics, news, contacts, and trends you need.

IMDB
"The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is a HUGE collection of movie information. We try to catalog every pertinent detail about a movie, from who was in it, to who made it, to trivia about it, to filming locations, and even where you can find reviews and fan sites on the web. We then do our best to present this information in a manner that is easy to search and access." - From the site.
Box Office Mojo
Extensive box office numbers and rankings.
National Association of Theatre Owners
Box office, admissions, price, and screen statistics.
MPAA (Motion Picture Association of America)
Data on movie attendance and domestic and international movie industry performance.

The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 J65 2004
The Lifestyle Market Analyst
Call Number: [X ReadyRef] HF5415.3 .L5

"A reference guide for consumer market analysis."