Skip to Main Content

Today's Hours:  

Public Performance Rights

What are PPR and when do you need them?

Summary by Database

Database Includes PPR PPR can be purchased More info
Kanopy some yes Use the toggle at the bottom of the search filter section to limit to just films with PPR. Films that include PPR with have a small icon.
SWANK no yes  
Theatre Performance & Design Collection

yes - no admission can be charged;

EXCEPT: Film Platform and National Theatre

 some

Film Platform and National Theatre tiles do not include PPR

This database includes full collections of:

  • Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works (Volumes I & II)
  • BBC Literary Adaptations in Video
  • National Theatre Collection (Volumes I & II) NO PPR
  • Performance Design Archive Online
  • The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection
  • Theatre in Context Collection (formally North American Theatre Online)
  • Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II)
Academic Video Online (AVON)

yes - no admission can be charged

EXCEPT: Film Platform

 yes Film Platform titles do not include PPR. Contact sales@filmplatform.net to purchase.
Films on Demand yes n/a  
On the Boards no no  
Vanderbilt TV News Archive no no Direct licensing questions to the broadcast networks who hold the copyrights to each individual item.
DVDs/Blu-Ray some n/a See the Holdings > Notes and Description sections of the individual film's Library Catalog record. Partial list here.

 

Kanopy

The library purchases individual licenses for titles via Kanopy.

Search the list of titles licensed from Kanopy: https://www.kanopy.com/en/emerson/search Use the Public Performance filter at the bottom of the page to identify films that have Public Performance Rights (PPR) for campus events.