Emerson College Library: BC310 : Application Projects

Databases

MRI / Simmons University Reporter (previously MRI Mediamark Reporter)
Demographic and marketing information based on an industry-standard national survey of product usage, consumer attitudes, and media exposure. Limit of 10 simultaneous users.
Mintel Insights & Analytics
Offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Reports provide data and analysis of the competitive landscape, trends, and consumer profiles. Use requires creating a personal account using an emerson.edu email address. Short (2 min) Mintel video tutorials.
ABI/Inform Complete
More than 3,100 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes journals, trade journals, newspapers, dissertations, and more.
Statista
Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.
WARC
Includes advertising campaign case studies, marketing best practices by platform, company & brand analysis, media consumption, media allocation, adspend data and forecasts, ad to sales ratios. Incorporates some Euromonitor and The Futures Company content. Affiliated with Journal of Market Research and International Journal of Market Research.

PEW Research Center
Provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends.

Journals & Additional Resources

Richard K. Miller Market Research Reports
RKMA publishes information on a wide variety of market trends and market data, including entertainment, consumer behavior, consumer marketing, and restaurant, food, and beverage markets.
The Journal of Marketing
The Journal of Marketing (JM) develops and disseminates knowledge about real-world marketing questions useful to scholars, educators, managers, policy makers, consumers, and other societal stakeholders around the world.
Journal of Consumer Marketing
Journal of Consumer Marketing (JCM) is a journal written by scholars and practitioners, and is edited for marketers who desire further insight into how people behave as consumers worldwide.
Journal of Consumer Culture
Journal of Consumer Culture is an established journal, supporting and promoting the continuing expansion in interdisciplinary research focused on consumption and consumer culture, opening up debates and areas of exploration.

Books & Ebooks

Principles of Marketing
This Open Educational Resource provides a solid grounding in the core concepts and frameworks of marketing theory and analysis so that business students interested in a major or minor in marketing will also be prepared for more rigorous, upper-level elective courses. Concepts are further reinforced through detailed, diverse, and realistic company and organization scenarios and examples from various industries and geographical locations. To illuminate the meaningful applications and implications of marketing ideas, the book incorporates a modern approach providing connections between topics, solutions, and real-world problems. Principles of Marketing is modular, allowing flexibility for courses with varied learning outcomes and coverage.

The Oxford Handbook of Music and Advertising by Deaville, James Andrew
ISBN: 9780190691264

Publication Date: 2021

An essential guide to the crucial role that music plays in relation to the audio or audiovisual advertising message, from the perspectives of its creation, interpretation, and reception. The book's unique three-part organization reflects this life cycle of an advertisement, from industry inception to mass-mediated text to consumer behaviour.
Consumer Behavior and Insights by Diane Phillips
ISBN: 9780190857134

Publication Date: 2021-02-23

Consumer Behavior and Insights presents a new approach to teaching consumer behavior. Author Diane M. Phillips moves beyond traditional psychological learning to acknowledge more holistic perspectives of consumer behavior, incorporating new areas of research, such as neuromarketing, sustainability, and artificial intelligence. This text includes the latest behavioral, psychological, and sociological approaches to elucidate important concepts and models of consumer decision-making. Importantly, the book draws important executive, research, and consumer insights to bring these concepts and models to life. The book sets theory in context through extensive use of US and international examples and extended cases.
Consumer Behaviour and Analytics by Andrew Smith
ISBN: 9781138592650

Publication Date: 2019-08-28

Consumer Behaviour and Analytics provides a consumer behaviour textbook for the new marketing reality. In a world of Big Data, machine learning and AI, this key text reviews the issues, research and concepts essential for navigating this new terrain. It demonstrates how we can use data-driven insight and merge this with insight from extant research to inform knowledge-driven decision making. Adopting a practical and managerial lens, while also exploring the rich lineage of academic consumer research, this textbook approaches its subject from a refreshing and original standpoint. It contains numerous accessible examples, scenarios and exhibits and condenses the disparate array of relevant work into a workable, coherent, synthesized and readable whole. Providing an effective tour of the concepts and ideas most relevant in the age of analytics-driven marketing (from data visualization to semiotics), the book concludes with an adaptive structure to inform managerial decision making. Consumer Behaviour and Analytics provides a unique distillation from a vast array of social and behavioural research merged with the knowledge potential of digital insight. It offers an effective and efficient summary for undergraduate, postgraduate or executive courses in consumer behaviour and marketing analytics or a supplementary text for other marketing modules.