Emerson College Library: Latin American and Caribbean History: Multimedia

Image Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A rich digital library of more than 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archaeology, which can be viewed online at full resolution and downloaded at reduced size for projects and presentations. Register an account to save and download images. See the Artstor users guides to learn more.
Associated Press (AP) Images This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of thousands of photos and graphics from the Associated Press, most taken since 1995, plus historical images dating back to the 1800s.

AVON - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Sometimes referred to as Alexander Street Video. All videos are transcribed. Indexed by subject, people, place, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Online access to a collection of 3800 television documentaries and feature-length films from Films Media Group and films for the Humanities and Sciences. Often includes archival footage. Videos available in Flash format.
Kanopy Streaming Media This link opens in a new window
Offering very limited collection of streaming films from both the Kino-Lorber and Criterion collections of features and documentaries.
National Theatre This link opens in a new window
Featuring 30 high definition streaming videos of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies, as produced by the UK's National Theatre.
On the Boards TV This link opens in a new window
The mission of On the Boards is to introduce audiences to international innovators in contemporary dance, theater and music while developing and presenting new work by promising performing artists in the region. Streaming videos of performances are available in high def and standard video.

Swank Motion Pictures
Non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown. Provides 1 or 3 year streaming licenses for films. Iwasaki Library's Swank collection is built from faculty requests. Swank will not work in the Safari browser.

Theatre in Video, Performance, and Design This link opens in a new window
Contains performances and related material of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Includes footage and interviews with playwrights and directors.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 900,000 evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. NBC Evening News since 1968 and CNN broadcasts from October 1995 can be viewed online.

Banana Wars: Global Fury Over a Humble Fruit [electronic resource]
The history of the banana trade is as politically loaded as that of coffee or oil-and yet it has received scant media attention over the decades. This documentary addresses that information void, exploring links between corporate power, Western governments, and developing nations that are heavily dependent on banana production as a result of colonial and post-colonial influences. Viewers gain an understanding of disputes between U.S.-supported Latin American countries wanting liberalization of European markets and the E.U.-allied ACP (Africa, Caribbean, and Pacific) states, which have traditionally enjoyed tariff preferences. An ideal case study for coursework focusing on the economics of globalization.

Caribbean with Simon Reeve. Part 1 [electronic resource]
Simon Reeve begins his journey on the island of Hispaniola, then explores both the light and dark sides of the Dominican Republic. He joins the Police Anti-Narcotics Division in the war against international drug cartels in Santo Domingo then crosses the border to Haiti and visits the notorious tented camps of Cite de Soleil. He also discovers a vibrant, colorful and thriving side to life in Haiti born out of the country's unique history.
Caribbean Crucible [electronic resource]
Analyzes analyzes the diverse forms of Caribbean popular music, tracking their roots to the traditional music of island nations such as Jamaica and the Dominican Republic. Recordings of music from Maroon communities and ecstatic Kumina sects, plus examples of mento and urban reggae, provide a sampler of the region's exciting musical hybrids-each a unique blend of African and European influences. Performers include Big Youth, Louise Bennett-Coverley, The Mummies of San Pedro de Macoris, The Congos of the Holy Spirit, Sarandunga Group of Bani, Talisman, and Mama Zeela and the Kumina of Spring Garden.