Sometimes you need to go straight to the source. EBSCO's Help menu offers authoritative instruction on creating a strong search; auto-formatting a citation; emailing, batch-emailing, printing, or saving an article; saving articles in a temporary folder; saving a search or email alert for newly published articles on your designated topic, and more.
Jump right in to 40,000 results for GMO Foods! Filter results by Source Type or date of publication. Results include news, scholarly articles, trade publications, and dissertations. Also includes ebooks, print books, streaming video, and DVDs, all from the library's collection.
Citations to articles from thousands of medical journals, including many articles on the treatment of communication disorders published in key journals. Includes all references and most content available in the (free) PubMed database.
Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.
Browse free and authoritative ebooks on GMO Foods or biotechnology. Filter by date of publication or keyword. Online collection through NCBI, which is part of the U.S. National Institutes for Medicine.
An investigation of science, politics and our food production system, this text exposes the bogus science, political interference and flawed policies that threaten our food supply. The author tells the story of BSE, revealing how top scientists have been muzzled and how the epidemic continues.
Tracing through anecdote and science the development of a hotly contended area of research, this account expounds the dawn of genetic engineering in the United States in 1974, through the early stages of its uptake in South Africa, to the current situation, in which approximately 80 percent of maize in South Africa is genetically modified for drought resistance. The guide through this history is Jennifer Thomson, whose own story of how she came to choose genetic modification (GM) as a career and her path-breaking involvement in the development of GM research. She describes the spread of this technology into other parts of Africa and her venture into unknown territory to develop crops resistant to drought, insects, and viruses, a journey in which she came up against the multinational Monsanto.
Genetically Modified Organisms in Food focuses on scientific evaluation of published research relating to GMO food products to assert their safety as well as potential health risks. This book is a solid reference for researchers and professionals needing information on the safety of GMO and non-GMO food production, the economic benefits of both GMO and non-GMO foods, and includes in-depth coverage of the surrounding issues of genetic engineering in foods.
The development of recombinant DNA methods has changed the face of the food industry over the last 50 years. Crops which have been genetically modified are being cultivated in more and more countries and this process is likely to accelerate as desirable traits are identified and transferred to appropriate organisms, and they are cleared by the regulatory authorities. However, the technique has its critics who claim that modification of the genome of the plant (or animal) in this way may pose unknown and unacceptable risks to the human consumer. Genetic Modification and Food Quality: A Down to Earth Analysis is the first comprehensive text on how GM production methods influence the quality of foods and feeds, based on a complete and unbiased assessment of the scientific findings.
Providing an exhaustive background on the history of genetically modified organism (GMO) crops and foods as well as the controversies surrounding these products, this book allows readers to develop their own particular viewpoint on the production and use of GMO substances. Genetic engineering has long been used to impart desirable characteristics to food plants in order to improve crop yield, pest resistance, and herbicide tolerance. Genetic modification of foods, however, has created a storm of controversy everywhere in the world--including the United States.
In a world in which so many are hungry, scientific advances in agriculture can have a substantial impact. Pesticides and GMOs help ensure that more of us can enjoy nutritious produce, but do they do more harm than good? From fears of causing cancer to the future of small and family farmers, there are enough questions about pesticides and GMOs to fuel their critics. Yet the list of benefits is hard to ignore. The diverse viewpoints from authoritative voices in the field will provide readers with a full picture of this complex topic.