Skip to main content

Iwasaki Library One Emerson Flex Learning

The Iwasaki Library is committed to providing excellent service and support to our entire community. We are emphasizing digital access to collections and services.  For the Boston campus, we will have reduced occupancy to support social distancing and will be open to Emerson faculty and students by appointment with a limited number of walk-in appointments to pick-up materials and access print/copiers. 

Please allow the vulnerable members of our community to have priority access to our library and lab resources. If you have an alternative study space and use of the internet, we appreciate your help as we prioritize accessibility.

Student Information

Library Website: The newly designed library website is your gateway to our many resources and services. It includes sections on Research Help and Services for students.


Library Hours: 

  • Monday-Thursday: 7:45am-11pm
  • Friday: 7:45am-9pm
  • Saturday: 10am-6pm
  • Sunday: Noon-11pm

See our website for holiday hours and other exceptions


Iwasaki Library Spaces: The Iwasaki Library will have reduced occupancy to support social distancing and will be open to Emerson faculty and students by appointment. Please allow the vulnerable members of our community to have priority access to our library and lab resources. If you have an alternative study space and use of the internet, we appreciate your help as we prioritize accessibility. If you need a study space or internet access please make an appointment using Emerson SpaceBook.

In order to protect our community, we are following the return to campus guidelines. Masks must be worn properly at all times, which means no food and drink in the library. 


Distance Learning: Student Guide: This guide links to resources Emerson students can access remotely. Resources include thousands of eBooks, streaming video titles, and dozens of electronic databases are available at all hours from almost anywhere in the world.

Research Guides: Available online 24/7 and created by librarians to provide starting points for research projects and assignments. 


Course Reserves: For campus safety, all circulating items need to be quarantined. Therefore, we will temporarily cease lending of our physical course reserves collection. For course materials not available electronically, students may request scanned chapters of course materials via our Request a Scan service. Students are limited to three requests a day, with a maximum of one chapter per book per day.


Request a Scan: In the case of items not available in an online format, use our Scan & Send service to request digital copies of articles and book chapters from our physical and microfilm collections, which are emailed directly to you.
 Students are limited to three requests a day, with a maximum of one chapter per book per day.


Research Assistance: Librarians are here to help answer any questions you have in your academic and creative work. Open to all members of the Emerson community. All reference questions will be answered electronically via email, chat, or Zoom appointment. 


Copy/Print, Scan, Adaptive Workstation: The library has two black & white printers and two color printers. Copier and scanners are also available for use. Our Adaptive workstation will continue to be available and can be booked via Emerson SpaceBook. 


Request Books: On the Boston campus you can request books from the Iwasaki Library to be pulled and picked up at the Service Desk. All items will be quarantined for 96 hours after return as per state guidelines. 


Interlibrary Loan: We help you gain access to books and articles owned by other libraries. Due to the pandemic, not all partner libraries are offering their usual lending services. We will do our best to get you what you need.


Classes in the Library: For classes being held in the Presidents' Room of Iwasaki Library (W303), students must check-in at the Service Desk.


Archives & Special Collections: The Archives holds College records and special collections focusing on the history of Emerson as well as topics related to the College’s curricula (such as comedy, journalism, and theatre). A subset of our materials are publicly available online.  We provide reference services to students regarding both classroom assignments and personal projects. Please contact us at archives@emerson.edu with all research questions, which will be answered electronically via email or Zoom appointment.


Boston Campus Study Spaces: This guide shows where you can study on the Boston campus, and how to book a space.


Boston Public Library: Anyone who lives, works, or attends school in Massachusetts is eligible for a Boston Public Library card. Register online for an eCard that gives you access to their extensive online resources, including all of JSTOR. NOTE: you cannot register for an eCard from abroad, and not all resources will work outside the United States due to vendor licensing restrictions.

Faculty Information

Library Website: The newly designed library website is your gateway to our many resources and services. It includes sections on Research Help for students and Faculty Resources.


Distance Teaching: Faculty Guide: This guide links to everything you need to teach at Emerson, with an emphasis on resources you and your students can access remotely. 


Liaisons: Additionally, each academic department has a dedicated Library Liaison. Contact them with any questions regarding library resources or services including procedures for browsing and item pick up.


Course Reserves: We work to provide access to the ebooks, articles, films, or tv shows required for your course. Due to e-publishing and streaming limitations, this may not always be possible, and we are happy to discuss options with you.


Iwasaki Library Spaces: The Iwasaki Library will have reduced occupancy to support social distancing and will be open to Emerson faculty and students by appointment. Please allow the vulnerable members of our community to have priority access to our library and lab resources. If you have an alternative study space and use of the internet, we appreciate your help as we prioritize accessibility. If you need a study space or internet access please make an appointment using Emerson SpaceBook.

In order to protect our community, we are following the return to campus guidelines. Masks must be worn properly at all times, which means no food and drink in the library. 


Research Assistance: We recommend strategies and resources to overcome a specific research obstacle. Open to all members of the Emerson community. All reference questions will be answered electronically via email, chat, or Zoom appointment. 


Research Skills Instruction: We teach students strategies and resources to overcome research obstacles. Collaborate with us on Research Guides, assignment design, and instructional workshops. Library instruction is available in synchronous and asynchronous modes.


Interlibrary Loan: We help you gain access to books and articles owned by other libraries. Due to the pandemic, not all partner libraries are offering their usual lending services. We will do our best to get you what you need.


Request a Scan: In the case of items not available in an online format, use our Scan & Send service to request digital copies of articles and book chapters from our physical and microfilm collections, which are emailed directly to you.


Boston Public Library: Anyone who lives, works, or attends school in Massachusetts is eligible for a Boston Public Library card. Register online for an eCard that gives you access to their extensive online resources, including all of JSTOR. NOTE: you cannot register for an eCard from abroad, and not all resources will work outside the United States due to vendor licensing restrictions.


Archives & Special Collections: The Archives holds College records and special collections focusing on the history of Emerson as well as topics related to the College’s curricula (such as comedy, journalism, and theatre). A subset of our materials are publicly available online and we offer both instruction and reference services.

  • Instruction: We help faculty develop class assignments that use our materials, identify collections that might prove useful in already established assignments, and provide instruction sessions focused on primary source use as well as other topics related to our collections. Virtual instruction is available in synchronous and asynchronous modes.
  • Reference: All reference questions will be answered electronically via email or Zoom appointment. Please contact us at archives@emerson.edu with all reference questions. 

Academic Assessment: We work with faculty looking to improve pedagogical strategies and to enhance student learning through examination and evidence. Call upon us for in-person consultations, program-level workshops, and additional faculty development opportunities.


Digital Scholarship and Humanities: Melissa DiBerardino can partner with and support you in projects inside or outside of the classroom, from grant applications to digital sustainability.