Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps, images, and travel journals. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.
A rich digital library of more than 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archaeology, which can be viewed online at full resolution and downloaded at reduced size for projects and presentations. Register an account to save and download images. See the Artstor users guides to learn more.
Research hub made up of Berg Fashion Library, Fashion Photography Archive, Fairchild Books Library, and Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts. Major reference works and eBooks, case studies, biographies, bibliographic guides, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and thousands of images from museums around the world to create a rich educational resource.
Streaming source for documentary films. Search "history of photography" for results including History of African American Photography; Dorothea Lange: Grab a Hunk of Lightning; The Man Who Shot Vietnam; and Mapplethorpe: Look at the Pictures.
Scholarly peer-reviewed articles, news, magazine and trade articles, ebooks, print books, streaming video, and dissertations. Limit results by keyword, type of source, subject, author, date of publication, etc. Covers most subjects. *Excludes some professional marketing databases, i.e. Mediamark Reporter, Statista.
To view images of contemporary art and read the lastest news be sure to check out art journals in the current periodicals section of the library.
Covers all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Content: artist biographies, definitions of art terminology, description of art movements, and images. Includes Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Resources in the broader Oxford Art Online may not be available. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
"This six-part series on photography was occasioned by the 150th anniversary of the medium’s invention. The programs take the form of film essays which look at varying aspects of photography throughout its history. The series draws from over 20 different collections of photographs in museums, archives, and private collections in the U.S., Canada, Britain, and France—an altogether splendid source of the best, most interesting, most innovative photographs in the century-and-a-half of this medium which revolutionized art and archivism. 6-part series, 26 minutes each." - Films on Demand About Series page