Emerson College Library: IN154: Power & Privilege: Background & Context

Reference

These reference resources are excellent starting points for topic summaries and historical context.

Credo Reference
Collection of virtual encyclopedias with over 3 million entries from 300+ reference books in a variety of subjects.
Literature Resource Center
Provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes, including plot summaries, literary criticism articles, author biographies, and the full text of literary journals, short poems, stories, novels, and author interviews.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Covers major topics in popular culture across a variety of media.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Emerson Reference: [X] CB9 .N49 2005

Reference Books

Use subject encyclopedias to find quick overviews and valuable background information on a topic. Reference books contain extensive bibliographies, which will point you to more books and articles.

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Richard T. Schaefer (Editor)
Call Number: Reference [X] HT1521 .E63 2008

ISBN: 1412926947

Publication Date: 2008-03-20

Interdisciplinary encyclopedia with entries for people, community/urban issues, concepts & theories. criminal justice, economics, education, gender & family, global perspectives, health, immigration, law, media, organizations, policies, racial, ethnic, and nationality groups, religion, and movements and conflicts. Appendices include U.S. historical statistics.
The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology by edited by Irving B. Weiner, W. Edward Craighead
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781444350432

Publication Date: 2010
The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor); J. Michael Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405183536

Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history [electronic resource] by Howard Chiang, editor in chief ; associate editors, Anjali Arondekar
Call Number: eReference

ISBN: 0684325543

Publication Date: 2019