Emerson College Library: Gender & Sexuality Studies: Reference

Encyclopedias

Use subject encyclopedias to find topic summaries and historical context. Reference books alsocontain bibliographies, which point you to more books and articles on similar topics.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313348600
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
ebook (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media [electronic resource] by Mary Kosut (Editor)
Call Number: Emerson eBooks
ISBN: 9781412990790
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history [electronic resource] by Howard Chiang, editor in chief ; associate editors, Anjali Arondekar
Call Number: eReference
ISBN: 0684325543
Publication Date: 2019
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities by Michael Flood (Editor); Judith Kegan Gardiner (Editor); Bob Pease (Editor); Keith Pringle (Editor)
Call Number: [X] HQ1090 .I58 2007
ISBN: 9780415333436
Publication Date: 2007-06-07
Routledge critical dictionary of feminism and postfeminism
Call Number: [X] HQ1115 .R68 2000
Sage encyclopedia of LGBTQ studies [electronic resource] by Edited by Abbie E. Goldberg, Clark University.
Call Number: Emerson eBooks
ISBN: 9781483371290
Publication Date: 2016
This encyclopedia focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Also in print: Emerson Reference: [X] CB9 .N49 2005
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Also in print: Emerson Reference: [X] E169.1 .S764 2000

The international LGBT rights movement : a history [electronic resource] by Laura A. Belmonte.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781474205498
Publication Date: 2021

Databases and Websites

Background information helps you contextualize your topic, adopt appropriate vocabulary and terminology, and support, refute, or define your assumptions.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports on topics of current interest, with pro and con arguments. Limited to 5 users at a time.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of virtual encyclopedias with over 3 million entries from 300+ reference books in a variety of subjects.

Global Issues in Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

JSTOR & ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text runs of 10,000+ top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes ebooks and primary source documents. For expanded JSTOR access, register for a free eCard through Boston Public Library. For help, see the JSTOR users' guides.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Current in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

Womens Voices Now
Watch short films from around the world advocating womens's rights and feminism.
Herstories: Audiovisual Online Archive of Lesbian Communities
"Contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Herstories Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection... The oral histories and other recordings on this site bring to life the rich stories of some of the lesbians for whom we have audio cassettes and VHS tapes in our collection. Some materials were contributed as part of personal collections; others were interviews done by members of the Archives or our communities. Some were part of research projects and others were recorded at public events by individuals who donated them to the Archives. These oral histories represent only a small part of the material in our collection."