Emerson College Library: Streaming Video: Search

What are Public Performance Rights?

Planning a film screening? You may need Public Performance Rights!

Public Performance Rights
by Cate Schneiderman Last Updated Feb 19, 2025 57 views this year

AVON - Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Sometimes referred to as Alexander Street Video. All videos are transcribed. Indexed by subject, people, place, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Films on Demand
Online access to a collection of 3800 television documentaries and feature-length films from Films Media Group and films for the Humanities and Sciences. Often includes archival footage. Videos available in Flash format.
Kanopy Streaming Media
Offering very limited collection of streaming films from both the Kino-Lorber and Criterion collections of features and documentaries.
National Theatre
Featuring 30 high definition streaming videos of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies, as produced by the UK's National Theatre.
On the Boards TV
The mission of On the Boards is to introduce audiences to international innovators in contemporary dance, theater and music while developing and presenting new work by promising performing artists in the region. Streaming videos of performances are available in high def and standard video.

Swank Motion Pictures
Non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown. Provides 1 or 3 year streaming licenses for films. Iwasaki Library's Swank collection is built from faculty requests. Swank will not work in the Safari browser. If you are experiencing technical difficulties accessing Swank films, your VPN may be the problem. Contact reference@emerson.edu for assistance.

Theatre in Video, Performance, and Design
Contains performances and related material of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Includes footage and interviews with playwrights and directors.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Index of more than 900,000 evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. NBC Evening News since 1968 and CNN broadcasts from October 1995 can be viewed online.