Explores media as it is being practiced, produced, and analyzed in Asia, Africa, the Americas, Australia, and Europe. All volumes pay close attention to issues of gender and ethnicity so necessary to understanding contemporary media. Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures...
"Through a collection of tips and techniques from leading journalists, professors, software developers, and data analysts, you'll learn how data can be either the source of data journalism or a tool with which the story is told--or both. Examine the use of data journalism at the BBC, the Chicago Tribune, the Guardian, and other news organizations..."
By addressing both institutional and non-institutional news production and providing ample attention to the question 'who is a journalist?', this book shapes the field and defines the roadmap for the research challenges that scholars will face in the coming decades.
Leading trade publication on journalism in the United States. Contains critical analysis of the performance of the news media -- both print and broadcast. Seventy-five percent of audience works in journalism or communication. Full-text article access from 1962 to present.
Nonpartisan fact tank informing the public on issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research on U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media (including publishing and e-publishing); internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.
Sometimes you need to go straight to the source. EBSCO's Help menu offers authoritative instruction on creating a strong search; auto-formatting a citation; emailing, batch-emailing, printing, or saving an article; saving articles in a temporary folder; saving a search or email alert for newly published articles on your designated topic, and more.
Databases - State of Media
Scholarly and professional journals publish critique and analysis of media coverage. Search by keyword or topic in the databases below.
Index of more than 900,000 evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. NBC Evening News since 1968 and CNN broadcasts from October 1995 can be viewed online.
Includes the full text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 5,000 articles. It covers journalism, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, television/
Developed from a merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts databases. Includes many unique sources. Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies. Subject-specific thesaurus.