Campus Race to Zero Waste

The book traces the history of waste and its generation - from the earliest civilisations till today - and the various efforts to find solutions. It is no technical treatise but told in a simple way. It has information, guidelines and tips on how you can help to reduce the problem that at times seems to be overwhelming us.

This study deals with the scientific and technical advances in recycling and deinking including new developments. Covers in great depth all the aspects of recycling technologies Covers the latest science and technology in recycling Provides up-to-date, authoritative information and cites many mills experiences and pertinent research Includes the use of biotech methods for deinking, refining. and improving drainage

Climate change, the depletion of natural resources, and industrial pollution have put manufacturing under the scrutiny of sustainability. This book describes the potential for used textile products to be recycled or up-cycled into new products.

This book covers the elements involved in achieving sustainability in the textiles and clothing sector. The chapters covered in different volumes of this series title aim to cover all the distinctive areas earmarked for achieving sustainable development in the textile and clothing industry. This first volume is dedicated to the initial phases of life cycle, i.e. raw materials and manufacturing phases of textile products. This book aims to cover the sustainable raw materials, technologies and processing methods to achieve sustainable textile products. There are plenty of raw materials available today to cater the needs of sustainable textiles and apparels including organic materials, recycled and biodegradable raw materials for textile applications. Similarly, many innovative methods to process textile materials to achieve sustainability in the supply chain along with various processing technologies to manufacture textile products sustainably. This first volume covers the titles of these areas in a comprehensive way.

This book examines how sustainability has the potential to transform both the fashion system and the innovators who work within it.Sustainability is arguably the defining theme of the twenty-first century. The issues in fashion are broad-ranging and include labor abuses, toxic chemicals, and conspicuous consumption, giving rise to an undeniable tension between fashion and sustainability. The book is organized in three parts. The first part is concerned with transforming fashion products across the garment's lifecycle and includes innovation in materials, manufacture, distribution, use, and disposal. The second part looks at ideas that are transforming the fashion system at root into something more sustainable, including new business models that reduce material throughput. The third section is concerned with transforming the role of fashion designers and looks to examples where the designer changes from a stylist or shaper of things into a communicator, activist, or facilitator.

Plastics have transformed every aspect of our lives. Yet the very properties that make them attractive--they are cheap to make, light, and durable--spell disaster when trash makes its way into the environment. Plastic Soup: An Atlas of Ocean Pollution is a beautifully-illustrated survey of the plastics clogging our seas, their impacts on wildlife and people around the world, and inspirational initiatives designed to tackle the problem.  In Plastic Soup, Michiel Roscam Abbing of the Plastic Soup Foundation reveals the scope of the issue: plastic trash now lurks on every corner of the planet. With striking photography and graphics, Plastic Soup brings this challenge to brilliant life for readers. Yet it also sends a message of hope; although the scale of the problem is massive, so is the dedication of activists working to check it. Plastic Soup highlights a diverse array of projects to curb plastic waste and raise awareness, from plastic-free grocery stores to innovative laws and art installations.  According to some estimates, if we continue on our current path, the oceans will contain more plastic than fish by the year 2050. Created to inform and inspire readers, Plastic Soup is a critical tool in the fight to reverse this trend.

This book covers the topic of microplastics in water and wastewater. The chapters start with introductory issues related to the growing interest in the scientific community on microplastics and the human water cycle and point out where the microplastics could interact with water. The subsequent chapters examine evidence of the microplastic presence in freshwater, such as in both rivers and lakes, in freshwater biota, and hazardous chemicals associated with microplastics in such systems.Another set of chapters discuss the presence of microplastics in wastewater: their sources; their transfer through a wastewater treatment plant; the concentration of microplastics in effluents throughout the world; the plastic biomedia used in wastewater treatment plants and the effect on the surrounding environment of effluent wastewater pipes.

Offers a current overview of the environmental inequities faced by poor and minority communities and the development of the grassroots movement working to address them. Building on the original edition's focus on the link between social inequalities and the uneven distribution of environmental hazards in the air, water, and soil, Environmental Justice: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition presents a contemporary look at the convergence of the environmental movement and civil rights activism. It follows the rise and maturation of the movement focused on environmental racism, describes solutions that have been implemented, and examines issues that remain unresolved.

Analysis and case studies from interdisciplinary perspectives explore the possibility and desirability of collaboration between the grassroots-oriented environmental justice movement and mainstream environmental organizations. Although the environmental movement and the environmental justice movement would seem to be natural allies, their relationship over the years has often been characterized by conflict and division. The environmental justice movement has charged the mainstream environmental movement with racism and elitism and has criticized its activist agenda on the grounds that it values wilderness over people. Environmental justice advocates have called upon environmental organizations to act on environmental injustice and address racism and classism in their own hiring and organizational practices, lobbying agenda, and political platforms. This book examines the current relationship between the two movements in both conceptual and practical terms and explores the possibilities for future collaboration.