Emerson College Library: Sports Marketing & Communication: Data and Statistics

Open Data Repositories & Hubs

Re3data
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. re3data promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.

United States

Data.gov
Data.gov is the United States federal government’s open data site, and aims to make government more open and accountable. Searches on the Data.gov catalog will return relevant datasets from both federal and non-federal sources.
Federal Reserve
The Federal Reserve is the central bank of the United States.
GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. The GSS is a publicly available national resource, and is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences.
National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive (NDA)
The National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive (NDA) makes available human subjects data collected from hundreds of research projects across many scientific domains. NDA provides infrastructure for sharing research data, tools, methods, and analyses enabling collaborative science and discovery. De-identified human subjects data, harmonized to a common standard, are available to qualified researchers. Summary data are available to all.
Analyze Boston
Analyze Boston is the City of Boston's open data hub to find facts, figures, and maps related to our lives within the city. The city is working to make this the default technology platform to support the publication of the City's public information, in the form of data, and to make this information easy to find, access, and use by a broad audience.
Boston Indicators Project
From the Boston Foundation, trends, data, and reports on numerous subjects, including the economy, the arts, education, energy & the environment, and more.

International

Canada Open Data
Search open data that is relevant to Canada and Canadians, learn how to work with datasets, and see what people have done with open data across the country.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Data Europa
Data Europa is a central point of access to European open data from international, European Union, national, regional, local and geodata portals. It consolidates the former EU Open Data Portal and the European Data Portal.
International Database, US Census Bureau
Find demographic indicators, population pyramids, mapping, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data Portal
The IMF Data Portal is the IMF’s new and improved dissemination platform that provides for greater data visualization and statistical tools. The suite of tools offered by the platform is extensive and strengthens the narrative and analysis of data and allows users to customize their data experience.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge
UNdata
Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
World Bank Open Data
This site is designed to make World Bank data easy to find, download, and use. All of the data found here can be used free of charge with minimal restrictions.
World Inequality Database
The World Inequality Database aims to provide open and convenient access to the most extensive available database on the historical evolution of the world distribution of income and wealth, both within countries and between countries.

Library Databases

Hoover's Online
Company and industry information, including financial data, company histories, news, and analysis.
MarketLine Advantage
Company and Industry profiles, including SWOT and Porter’s Five Force Analyses. Company profiles include history, competitors, financials (including cash flow, balance sheets, ratios), subsidiaries. Industry profiles include market value, volume, segmentation, and forecast. Country reports provide analysis of the country’s political, economic, social, technological, and environmental structure. Formerly known as Datamonitor 360.
Mintel Insights & Analytics
Offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Reports provide data and analysis of the competitive landscape, trends, and consumer profiles. Use requires creating a personal account using an emerson.edu email address. Short (2 min) Mintel video tutorials.
MRI / Simmons University Reporter (previously MRI Mediamark Reporter)
Demographic and marketing information based on an industry-standard national survey of product usage, consumer attitudes, and media exposure. Limit of 10 simultaneous users.
Snapshot Series
The Snapshot International Group Series of 9000 reports is designed to provide an instant overview of a market, and the data is supplied in both graphical and tabular format for ease of interpretation and analysis.
SRDS Online
Advertising rates, circulation, and contact info for newspapers, magazines, TV and cable, radio, and online services. Also provides Claritas consumer demographics data by state, county and DMA - Boston data included. For definitions of advertising terms on digital platforms (like cost-per-click, cost-per-impression, etc.) see Glossary for Digital Media and Planning, standardized and published by Internet Advertising Bureau.
Statista
Provides current data, detailed analysis, consumer attitudes, and infographics on a variety of topics and industries. Examples of coverage include agriculture, advertising (including adspend and ad reach), book and digital publishing, radio, television, public relations, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Also offers Market Outlooks (market size, forecasts, and indicators for the digital economy), and Country Profiles with key socioeconomic indicators.
WARC
Includes advertising campaign case studies, marketing best practices by platform, company & brand analysis, media consumption, media allocation, adspend data and forecasts, ad to sales ratios. Incorporates some Euromonitor and The Futures Company content. Affiliated with Journal of Market Research and International Journal of Market Research.

Online Resources

Dataset Search
Google's Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
Economic Policy Institute Data
The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions. Includes State of Working America Data Library and Economy Track Data.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, podcasts and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.
Sense about Science USA & STATS check
Sense About Science USA‘s mission is to improve communication, transparency, and the use of evidence in the sciences, with a focus on the critical importance of quantitative and statistical literacy. STATS check assists professional journalists in analyzing big data and stats.
Wisconsin Administrative Data Core (WADC)
Developed and maintained by the Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP) in collaboration with its Wisconsin state agency partners, the Wisconsin Administrative Data Core (WADC) links a large array of administrative data covering a long period of program history.

Polling Data

Emerson College Polling
The Emerson College Polling Center is a non-partisan organization that administers opinion surveys to better understand the attitudes and beliefs of the public with a transparent and representative approach.
Gallup
"Provides market research and consulting services around the world. Publisher of the Gallup Poll, a widely recognized barometer of American opinion."

Issues and Controversies
Current in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan fact tank informing the public on issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research on U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media (including publishing and e-publishing); internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.

Polling the Nations
Results from over 12,000 surveys on a variety of topics.

Roper Center Polling - Data Highlights and Topics
View free Roper polling data on selected topics like Presidentail elections, abortion, the economy, education, guns, health, immigration, etc.