Emerson College Library: Teach-In on Race 2021: Panel 4: Social Justice, Archives, & Elders

Panel 4: Social Justice, Archives, and Elders

With the Elma Lewis Center

Friday, October 29, 1:00-2:00pm

Radical Archiving As Black Feminist Time Travel | Conversations with veteran Black community organizers, mutual aid workers, social justice and civil rights activists. What has changed? What work still needs to be done?

Panelists:

Coco Rosenberg, Social Justice Archive Network
Priscilla Andrade, MFA ‘14, Social Justice Archive Network
Helen Dreher Credle, Elma Lewis Living Stories Archive
Moderator: Tam Marko

Panelist Recommendations

The Elma Lewis Living Stories Project
The Elma Lewis Center at Emerson College, the Elma Lewis Legacy Circle, and the National Center of Afro-American Artists

The Elma Lewis Living Stories Project illuminates the extraordinary contributions of Miss Lewis to arts, education, civil rights, and Black history in Boston.

Resources related to Panel 4: Social Justice, Archives, and Elders

Say Brother by WGBH Boston
Call Number: streaming video

Publication Date: 1970's

Say Brother is GBH’s longest-running public affairs television program by, for and about African Americans, now known as Basic Black. Features several interviews with Elma Lewis
Changing lives, changing communities: oral histories from Action for Boston Community Development edited by Robert C. Hayden and Ann Withorn, with Jen Douglas.
Call Number: HT177.B6 C55 2002

Publication Date: 2002

A joint publication of Action for Boston Community Development and the University of Massachusetts.

Archives & Special Collections at Boston Public Library: Social Justice Collection
This collection contains eight boxes of activism-related ephemera from 1968-1983, documenting changing American ideologies at the grassroots level in Boston and Cambridge. Particularly strong topics represented in the collection are Boston’s busing crisis, boycotts of major companies such as J.P. Stevens & Co., workers strikes, farmworkers’ rights, housing and tenant rights in Cambridge, anti-nuclear activism regarding Seabrook Station Nuclear Power Plant, advocacy for nuclear disarmament, feminism and issues of equal and reproductive rights, and anti-war action relating to the Vietnam War and the draft.

Roadwork: Building Multi-Racial Coalitions through Women's Culture
The roots of contemporary social justice movements in the United States are deeply intertwined. THE ROADWORK ORAL HISTORY AND DOCUMENTARY PROJECT illuminates and documents these roots by telling the story of a multiracial, cultural-political collaboration among musicians, artists, poets and organizers that existed from the late 1970s to the 1990s.