These electronic resources are being considered by the library. Please follow the feedback link to give us your evaluation.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014
Resources here are provided for the evaluation of the Emerson community. Access is limited to Emerson students, faculty and staff, and full functionality of these resources may not be available. For assistance in using these resources, please contact the Reference Desk.
The trials below are being evaluated by Emerson's librarians, faculty, staff and students.
The Emerson community is welcome to take part in these trials. Please share your feedback to guide our decisions!
- Silent Films Online
A collection of renowned works from the silent era, these films date from the 1890s through the 1930s and feature luminaries such as Charlie Chaplin, Thomas Edison, DW Griffith, and many more.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Online access to nearly 2000 comic books, many obscure and long out-of-print, and featuring work by masters of the underground and alternative comic industry.
- Digital Theatre Plus
Experience the thrill of live theatre brought directly to your teaching space
Watch high quality films of leading theatre productions
Discover how plays are brought to the stage in interviews with the creative teams
Learn about interpretive choice through detailed analysis of play texts
Teach key plays with stimulating and relevant support
- Very Short Introductions from Oxford
Username & Password: flo-trial
Very Short Introductions are a series of guides to a variety of sujects (nearly 500) each under 200 pages in length. This database provides access to all of them. in ebook format.
- VAST - The Video Library from Alexander St. Press
VAST: Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource on the Web. It’s Alexander Street’s flagship video subscription, bringing together thousands of video titles in a wide range of disciplines. With thousands and thousands of complete titles (not clips) and growing by more than 400 titles per month, VAST includes award-winning films from dozens of notable producers and distributors.
VAST covers the following areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films* (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women’s studies. The range of subjects covered continues to grow.
- Business Expert Press
A collection of nearly 200 ebooks in business, industry analysis, and marketing.
- SimplyMap Geographic Economic data
Click on "Sign in as Guest" (lower right) to access the trial. SimplyMap provides geographic data analysis, including sales figures and consumer use figures from both Neilsen Claritas (compare to SRDS) and Simmons Local. Under Help (top right screen after sign-in) see tutorial videos to explain features.
- Arts & Humanties Full Text
Full text access to 500 journals dedicated to arts, literature, and humanities topics.
- Design & Applied Arts Index
This database is a source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
- International Bibliography of Art
European art since late antiquity
American art since the colonial period
Global art since 1945
Fine art in all media
Decorative arts and antiques
Museum studies and conservation
Archaeology and material culture
Ovid provides trial access to the public of a selected resource each
month. These resources vary. Please note the name of the database when providing feedback. A sign-in form is required to access this resource.